A Creative Cloud update that was recently released by Adobe has been deleting Mac users’ files without warning, reports Ars Technica. The update, now pulled by Adobe, deleted the contents of the first folder listed alphabetically in a Mac’s root directory. Files were deleted after the update was installed and users logged into the Adobe service.

The bug has affected customers in different ways depending on the content that was listed first in the directory. Many customers who use backup service Backblaze had problems with the service because a hidden root folder called .bzvol was the file that was listed first and subsequently deleted. Backblaze made a video demonstrating the issue:

As Ars Technica points out, many Mac users’ first folder is .DocumentRevisions-V100, which is used by the Mac’s autosave feature and can cause problems if deleted.
The Adobe bug could also have dire consequences for users who have important folders with spaces in them, since those also assume a top alphabetically sorted spot on the Mac hard drive (which by default is labeled Macintosh HD).

An Adobe spokesperson said the company is investigating the issue and has pulled the distribution of the update until the problem is fixed. Creative Cloud users should avoid updating until a clear fix is provided by Adobe, and as an extra layer of precaution, a fake folder with a name that will place it in the top spot in the root directory may also help users avoid issues.

Tag: Adobe

Discuss this article in our forums

You can follow iPhoneFirmware.com on Twitter or join our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Apple and the Web.