While Apple’s new iPad will surely be powered by a faster processor, we’ve heard conflicting reports about next generation iPad’s system-on-chip.

Some say it could be powered by a quad-core A6 chip or by an improved dual-core A5X chip.

The Verge now reports that iPad 3 will be powered by the dual-core A5X system-on-chip and not the quad-core A6 chip. The Verge also claims that according to sources familiar with the matter, Apple will also release the next generation Apple TV alongside iPad 3.

According to sources familiar with the matter, Apple will update both the new Apple TV and the iPad 3 (or iPad HD, a name we first unearthed last year) not with the rumored, quad-core A6 system-on-a-chip, but rather the A5X, a dual-core SoC said to have a more powerful GPU. From what we’re hearing, it’s basically an A5 on steroids.

Our source was adamant that neither of the new products would be receiving the next generation chip — rather, that Apple seems to be waiting for the launch of the iPhone 5 to introduce the rumored A6.

The Verge also confirms that iPad 3 will come with Retina Display, more RAM and support 4G LTE networks, however according to their sources Apple will be releasing separate 4G iPad models for AT&T and Verizon and a third model for international markets that works on 3G GSM and CDMA networks.

The Verge also reports that Apple TV 3 will get 1080p video capabilities, which will work with iPad 3 and Macs using AirPlay streaming and mirroring functionality.

We’ll be live blogging the event so don’t forget to join us at 10am PT or 1pm ET or 6pm GMT tomorrow.

You can follow iPhoneFirmware.com on Twitter or join our Facebook fan page to keep updated on the latest jailbreak and unlock news.

You can follow iPhoneFirmware.com on Twitter or join our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Apple and the Web.