Even with the area marker – – in the text submitted – – toggled off in Facebook’s Messenger app for iOS or Android, the app still logs your place information on a map which is regularly uploaded to Facebook’s servers, leaving it open for prying eyes. What if you wish to turn off area sharing completely? You can, and we’ll show you how to do just that.

There was a time when area monitoring, thanks to our smartphones, was something to be thrilled about, however as it stands today this function has ended up being increasingly intrusive and a major privacy issue – – often through fault of our own, however typically since key information is kept from us by some app makers, and Facebook Messenger happens to be just among those.


Messenger location main

We recently covered news regarding a Chrome extension called Marauders Map which basically shows how Facebook keeps a log of all your area history that it has stored from your messages, even if you believe that your location is not being shared at all – – remember the location marker bit we mentioned earlier. As I stated, the majority of us have actually currently left a big footprint of our area history out there, however you have to begin from somewhere and put an end to these wicked designs – – or plans, depending what you wish to call them.


The best and most reliable method to remove any possibilities of you ever stumbling into exposing your place through the Messenger app is to just disable it on the system level for good, well, up until you decide to revert back to sharing your journeys.


Step 1: To begin, simply launch the Messenger app on your phone or tablet.

Step 2: Hit the ‘Settings’ tab and simply disable the Location settings by tapping on it.

Android location


Step 1: To begin, launch the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad from your home screen.

Step 2: Navigate to Privacy > Location Services.



Step 3: Scroll below to look for the ‘Messenger’ app and tap it.


Step 4: Now, select ‘Never’ as the option and exit the Settings app.


With the place choice disabled on both Android and iOS, the Messenger app will not log your location henceforth. This also indicates that you will not have the ability to show off to your buddies from where you’re really sending out messages from. However you already understood that didn’t you?

You can follow iPhoneFirmware.com on Twitter or join our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Apple and the Web.