Don’t you hate it when an app asks for permission to use photos or location data and you hit the wrong button? In iOS 6, you can bypass this headache and change permissions on an app-by-app basis.

Go to Settings > Privacy > Service Type, e.g. Location Services or Contacts, and enable or disable permission on an app-by-app basis. You’ll find a list of applications that have requested access to each privileged data type. These privacy settings include:

  • Location Services
  • Contacts
  • Calendars
  • Reminders
  • Photos
  • Bluetooth Sharing
  • Twitter, and
  • Facebook

Toggle each setting from On to Off or Off to On to match your exact needs. If you messed up in the application itself, this gives you a second (and third, and so forth) chance at ensuring your privacy settings are exactly what you desire.

iOS 6: Restoring App-specific privacy permissions originally appeared on TUAW – The Unofficial Apple Weblog on Wed, 19 Sep 2012 15:00:00 EST. Please see our terms for use of feeds.

Source | Permalink | Email this | Comments

You can follow on Twitter or join our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Apple and the Web.