Apple’s iMessage app offers message standing updates that permit you understand when a message has actually been supplied. It likewise has a convenient attribute called Read Receipts that permits you understand when an individual has actually reviewed the message.


This condition upgrade could be a blessing when you really want an individual to know instantly that you have seen their time-sensitive response.

Apple deals with the condition update so you do not have to do anything besides open the message. Simply check out the iMessage and the sender will see the “Read” timestamp in their timeline.

As valuable as the Read Receipts attribute could be, it additionally can create angst both for the sender and recipient. You could picture the complying with situation– a wife uncovers she is pregnant and provides an excited message to her hubby. She views that he checked out the message a hr back and is upset since he never ever responded.

On the various other end is the husband, which watched the message right before an important conference. He now is painful over ways to respond while his boss is taking a breath over his back, recognizing that his partner knows the truth that the message has actually been checked out.

Read Receipt

If you desire to stay away from such complicated message connections, you can effortlessly shut off read receipts, which conceals the reality that you have actually reviewed a message from the sender.

The sender will certainly still view the “delivered” standing, so they can be ensured the message arrive on your phone. They just will not recognize if or when you have read the message. Adhere to these steps to shut off Read Receipts:

  • Open the environments app in iOS
  • Scroll down to “Messages” and tap on it to check out the Messages environments
  • Discover “Read Receipts” and make sure it is toggled to the off placement (in iOS 7, environment-friendly is on and clear is off)
  • Resume your typical messaging habits

Once this option is toggled off, other individuals will certainly not be alerted when you review their message.

You can follow on Twitter or join our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Apple and the Web.