Major League Baseball announced in New York City on Tuesday night that nine more ballparks will support Apple’s Passbook ticketing system this season, according to GigaOm.

The ballparks include the homes of the Minnesota Twins, Baltimore Orioles, Milwaukee Brewers, Oakland A’s, Pittsburgh Pirates, Detroit Tigers and Chicago Cubs. They join the New York Mets, San Francisco Giants and Kansas City Royals, all which began accepting Passbook tickets last fall.

MLB says that three additional parks will announce Passbook support this season, but they’re not ready to do so just yet. MLB noted that Apple’s Passbook app was the delivery method of choice for 12 percent of e-tickets purchased last season.

MLB expands Passbook to 13 ballparks this season originally appeared on TUAW – The Unofficial Apple Weblog on Wed, 27 Feb 2013 11:30:00 EST. Please see our terms for use of feeds.

Source | Permalink | Email this | Comments

You can follow on Twitter or join our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Apple and the Web.