Apple Pay Expected to Launch in Austria in ‘Coming Months’

Apple Pay will launch in Austria in the “coming months,” according to well-known Austrian newspaper Der Standard. The report cites two unnamed sources and says Bank Austria could be one of the participating issuers.

Apple Pay first debuted in the United States in October 2014, and its availability has since expanded to over 20 countries and territories around the world, most recently including Norway, Poland, and the Ukraine:

  • United States
  • United Kingdom
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Singapore
  • Switzerland
  • Hong Kong
  • France
  • Russia
  • China
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Spain
  • Taiwan
  • Ireland
  • Guernsey
  • Isle of Man
  • Jersey
  • Italy
  • San Marino
  • Vatican City
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Brazil
  • Ukraine
  • Poland
  • Norway
Apple Pay enables users to add a debit or credit card from participating banks to the Wallet app and pay with a compatible iPhone or Apple Watch at stores that accept contactless payments, or in apps and on the web.

(Thanks, Michael and Rudolf!)

You can follow on Twitter, add us to your circle on Google+ or like our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Apple and the Web.