Google Adds New Auto-Delete Controls for Location History and Activity Data

Google today announced a new privacy-focused auto-delete option for automatically removing Location History and Web & App Activity after a set period of time.

You can now choose to delete your information manually, every three months, or every 18 months. With these settings enabled, Google will regularly clear out your data at the three month mark or the 18 month mark.


Prior to this change, Google allowed Location History and Web & App Activity to be disabled or manually deleted, but there were no controls for regular deletion, which may encourage more people to use these features.

Google’s Location History feature tracks the locations that you’ve visited, while Web & App Activity tracks websites you’ve visited and apps that you’ve used. Google uses this information for recommendations and cross device syncing.

Google says the new controls for Location History and Web & App Activity will be rolling out “in the coming weeks,” and has suggested the auto-delete functionality will be coming to additional features in the future.

This article, “Google Adds New Auto-Delete Controls for Location History and Activity Data” first appeared on MacRumors.com


You can follow iPhoneFirmware.com on Twitter, add us to your circle on Google+ or like our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Apple and the Web.